Skip to content

Hunter-Reay special to kick off NBCSN Indy coverage

Mar 20, 2013, 7:00 PM EDT

Auto Club Speedway - Day 2 Getty Images

NBC Sports Network’s 2013 coverage of the IZOD IndyCar Series kicks off with Ryan Hunter Reay: An American Champion, airing Thursday night at 7 p.m. ET.

Hunter-Reay overcame more than a 30-point deficit in the final two races of the 2012 season to become the first American champion in open-wheel racing since Sam Hornish Jr. in 2006, and the first in a unified open-wheel series since Al Unser Jr. in 1994.

NBC Sports Network’s new-look IndyCar booth makes its debut with Leigh Diffey as lead voice in his first year covering the IndyCar Series. He will be joined by returning race analyst and former NASCAR driver Wally Dallenbach, Jr., and newcomer to the booth, IndyCar driver Townsend Bell.

Jon Beekhuis, an analyst who has also served at the network since 2009, will now report from pit road. Veterans Kevin Lee and Brian Till will manage the pit, and will be joined by Robin Miller, the network’s IndyCar reporter.

The rest of NBC Sports Network’s IZOD IndyCar coverage from St. Petersburg is below. All are subject to change, and all times ET:

Thurs., March 21 Ryan Hunter-Reay: An American Champion 7 p.m.
Sat., March 23 IndyCar Qualifying 2:30 p.m.
Sun., March 24 Indy Lights: Streets St. Petersburg 11 a.m.
Sun., March 24 Honda Indy Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Noon
Tues., March 26 Honda Indy Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Re-Air Midnight


  1. ttnvrl8 - Mar 21, 2013 at 2:37 AM

    Hunter-Reay’s been pretty busy in the off-season. I think he’s going to be quick out of the gate.

  2. sashe78 - Mar 21, 2013 at 9:45 AM

    I am excited about ANY open-wheel racing series starting. I don’t see Ryan Hunter Reay being as dominant as the end of last season. He was on a roll but it’s very difficult to maintain such dominance.
    Also wondering when Robin Miller will finally be removed as a TV reporter. He should stick to the written word.

  3. sirheady - Mar 21, 2013 at 8:34 PM

    he’s got it. Going to win it all this year

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!