Skip to content

UPDATE: Castroneves’ Texas winning car penalized

Jun 11, 2013, 5:10 PM EDT

Firestone 550 Getty Images

Roger Penske’s team is batting the worst 2-for-2 possible this year. Penske Racing was penalized after the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series weekend at Texas Motor Speedway in April, and now it faces further penalties after the IZOD IndyCar Series race at the same facility.

INDYCAR announced Tuesday that Helio Castroneves’ race-winning No. 3 AAA Chevy had violated Rule 14.6.6.14 of the 2013 IndyCar rulebook – an underwing violation.

For the infraction, the team was fined $35,000 and docked 15 entrant points, but Castroneves’ driver points were not impacted. Penske can appeal the penalty if he desires.

Justin Wilson’s team was penalized after he had won last year’s Texas race, as well. The team was fined $7,500 and docked five entrant points for not complying with the sidepod top deck aerodynamic element of Rule 14.6.4.13 of last year’s rulebook.

UPDATE, 5:15 p.m. ET: Penske Racing president Tim Cindric has issued the following statement regarding the penalty:

“Obviously we are very disappointed that the No. 3 car did not pass post-race inspection after Saturday’s race at Texas. The rule in question (14.6.6.14) states that the diffuser exit must measure 7.600.” After the race, ours was 7.575″ because we neglected to tighten the braces that position the rear of the diffuser following pre-race inspection.

The way Helio’s car raced did not provide any advantage as a lower diffuser height actually adds drag and reduces downforce. To ensure this is the case, we ran this configuration in the wind tunnel on Monday morning and found that the No. 3 car actually raced with three pounds less downforce and one pound more drag than what it would have had if we tightened the underwing braces properly.”

  1. Jeff - Jun 11, 2013 at 7:22 PM

    Not surprising to me, I always suspect shenanigans with Penske.
    And I still call shenanigans regarding what Cindric said. Helio looked like he had a definite advantage.

  2. midtec2005 - Jun 12, 2013 at 11:06 AM

    He should have had championship points removed… I don’t understand why he didn’t.

    • irlfannphx - Jun 12, 2013 at 1:23 PM

      He DID have points removed… He lost 15 Championship Points!

      • midtec2005 - Jun 12, 2013 at 1:48 PM

        No he didn’t, those were entrant points, which are different (according to Marshall Pruett).

  3. irlfannphx - Jun 12, 2013 at 1:56 PM

    The Arizona Republic never distinguished between the two.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Today on NASCAR AMERICA

More from NASCAR America

Ives, Earnhardt Jr. a good combo?

Featured video

Inside the Hungarian GP
Top 10 NASCAR Driver Searches