Jul 28, 2013, 1:00 PM EDT
Romain Grosjean has been handed a 20-second time penalty following an incident between him and Jenson Button in today’s Hungarian Grand Prix.
The Lotus driver attempted to pass Button at turn six heading into the chicane, but the two drivers made contact and Grosjean ran on at the chicane. However, instead of handing the position back, Grosjean held his place and went on to finish the race in 6th place ahead of Button.
Button immediately asked his team to take the matter to race control, but the stewards confirmed that they would investigate the incident after the race. Later on, Grosjean received a drive-through penalty for exceeding track limits when passing Felipe Massa at turn four.
The 20 second penalty does not see Grosjean lose any positions after he finished 21.5 seconds ahead of Button, the aggrieved party, which may cause many to question the steward’s decision as it has as much affect on the race result as no penalty at all.
- Report: Grand jury now hearing testimony in Tony Stewart/Kevin Ward Jr. case 2
- 2015 Sprint Cup rules to feature reduced testing, less horsepower 8
- COTA: A circuit to behold from the passenger’s seat 0
- NASCAR AMERICA: Team Penske pushing for incredible season (VIDEO) 0
- Lotterer: “F1 (racing) isn’t what it used to be anymore” 0
- Joey Logano avoids “yellow fever,” wins at N.H. to advance in Chase 3
- Wreck involves several Chase drivers; Keselowski spins, suffers minor damage 1