Skip to content

Twitter lights up over Scott Dixon’s late penalty at Sonoma

Aug 25, 2013, 8:31 PM EDT

The reaction on Twitter has been fast – and mostly negative – toward Scott Dixon’s costly pit road penalty near the end of today’s GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, which was won by Will Power.

Upon making his final stop of the day, Dixon peeled out of his pit box but hit a tire that was being carried by a crewman from Will Power’s team. The impact sent the crewman into another Power crewman, with both falling to the ground.

Race Control called a drive-through penalty on Dixon for a pit safety violation, knocking him all the way to 21st. He would rally to finish 15th, but still missed out on a potential win and a chance to move closer to championship leader Helio Castroneves, who finished seventh on Sunday.

Following the race, Dixon went on Twitter to call out what he saw as “bad sportsmanship” on the part of the Power crewman that he hit.

Additionally, here’s a smattering of more Tweets regarding Dixon’s penalty from other active professional drivers and race fans alike.

  1. wallio - Aug 25, 2013 at 8:43 PM

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. There are no intelligent people on Twitter. This proves it yet again. The sad part is, no one would complain if Dixon wasn’t leading. Apparently Attempted Vehicular Manslaughter is perfectly fine if you are going for the win.

    • indycarseries500 - Aug 25, 2013 at 11:38 PM

      …more like semi-attempted suicide, you’re mad if you don’t think the RR changer on the 12 did that on purpose. There is an etiquette on pit lane and I know some of that goes out the window in a competition setting but walking into or walking equipment into another car isn’t one of them. Ganassi won’t be stupid/low enough to allow his pit guys to walk in front of a car but they definitely won’t make it easy on Will next week.

    • traci10 - Aug 26, 2013 at 1:10 AM

      Of course there would be complaints no matter who!!! A bad calll on anyone is unfair. Attempted Vehicular Manslaughter ARE U KIDDING ME!!! Please have u watch it, scott would never and DID NOT do this on purpose. This tyre guy was out of line. Scott is not the type of person do ever do anything like that EVER. Pull your head in pal

  2. mjsvette1980 - Aug 25, 2013 at 8:47 PM

    I suggest you all review the video. Scott Dixon clearly and I mean absolutely clearly crossed into Will Power’s pitbox. That is the violation of the rules and even if there was no crewmember, the violation stands. A driver cannot enter another driver’s pitbox, that is a serious violation. The fact that Scott Dixon could not tell that he did this shows what a moronic stupid dangerous driver he is. I think Scott Dixon has some serious eyesight and some serious mental problems and should quit racing.

    • fireball827 - Aug 25, 2013 at 11:19 PM

      Let me just say that the tire the crewman was carrying was inside Dixon’s pit. Watch the above replay. The white lines have nothing to do with IndyCar. Those are for NASCAR.

    • traci10 - Aug 26, 2013 at 1:36 AM

      I cannot believe you would write such a stupid comment about Scott and his driving. Scott has NEVER EVER been a ‘moronic stupid dangerous driver’.
      HAS YOUR MOTHER NOT TAUGHT YOU “if you have nothing good to say don’t say anything at all”. Your comments are the most moronic stupid I have ever read. I can assure you Scott has no eyesight problems nor mental problems. I am his sister and I take great offense at this. Scott has always showed respect to other drivers are very very rarley speaks his mind. He is a great race car driver and you should apoligse.

      • midtec2005 - Aug 26, 2013 at 12:57 PM

        “Scott has always showed respect to other drivers are very very rarley speaks his mind”

        I actually think he speaks his mind quite often… which is something I like about him.

    • burbanite - Aug 26, 2013 at 2:26 PM

      Sorry, a driver absolutely can enter another teams pit box, in fact, they are allowed to travel though the next two consecutive pit boxes before entering the blend lane.

      That is not part of this issue at all, it is the poor judgement exercised by the Penske team member that caused this. He has the right to be in his own pit box but also the responsibility to act in a safe manner, that he did not do and endangered not only himself but his team mates.

    • imajoebob - Aug 29, 2013 at 12:40 PM

      Interesting comment. Especially since the bonehead who made the call said in an interview immediately after the race that the pits weren’t clearly marked, and that the lines you could see were actually the NASCAR pits, which they didn’t use.

      That you can’t or won’t understand that shows what a “moronic stupid dangerous” [sic] commenter you are.

  3. Jeff - Aug 25, 2013 at 9:12 PM

    Power and Dixon were in Franchitti’s box. So both should get a penalty.

  4. NotoriousKDV - Aug 25, 2013 at 11:20 PM

    The real problem is that their pit boxes were so close together for some reason. They’re racing at Sonoma so we know they have 43 pit boxes because of NASCAR. There were only 25 cars in today’s Indycar race so I just don’t see why they had to put the pit boxes that close together.

    The replay shows that there isn’t even a full box between Power’s rear and Dixon’s front. Again, with that much space on that pit road there’s no reason for that. Give everyone a little more room between pit boxes and this problem doesn’t happen.

  5. aljsmith - Aug 26, 2013 at 3:57 AM

    It is impossible for Scott to leave his pit without going through Will Powers pit!! FULL STOP! To use this argument is an easy way to be blind sided by the truth. Why not get someone to look at Will Powers other pit stops during the race and see if his rear wheel pit guy acted the sasme way, then you will know if Will Powers pit crew did it on purpose. Watch were Dixons pit crew puts the same tire. If Indy was so concerned about the pit crews saftey they would make them all do what Dixons crew did!!

  6. midtec2005 - Aug 26, 2013 at 12:55 PM

    Guys, calm down.

    I understand the outrage but there are rules and you’re not allowed to hit things on pit road. If you do, it’s a penalty. Race control had no choice.

    That being said, The Penske boys were definitely playing dirty. The blame falls on them. I’m sure the Ganassi team won’t forget it anytime soon, and nor should they. There are unwritten rules of etiquette and Powers team broke those rules.

    • imajoebob - Aug 29, 2013 at 12:41 PM

      There ARE rules. One of them is a member of a pit crew is not allowed to intentionally impede the path of a car.

  7. amsiford - Aug 26, 2013 at 8:58 PM

    It was a mistake by Dixon, not team Penske. Drive through other the pit boxes all you want…unless it’s being used ! Dixon is a great driver, but he’s not perfect.

  8. gowhitten - Aug 30, 2013 at 10:55 PM

    Too bad the tireman got off so lightly. It is obvious he did it on purpose.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!