Skip to content

Clarification issued on two contact points in Sunday’s Baltimore GP

Sep 4, 2013, 6:00 PM EDT

Sebastien Bourdais AP

Three in-race drive-through penalties were issued during Sunday’s contact-filled Grand Prix of Baltimore presented by SRT.

Helio Castroneves committed a pit safety infraction when he hit one of his own Team Penske crewmembers, while Oriol Servia (hit Sebastien Bourdais on a Lap 57 restart) and Will Power (contacted Scott Dixon on a Lap 53 restart) were each guilty of avoidable contact.

There were two other contact points from Baltimore that needed further clarification. On Lap 48, Graham Rahal moved to Scott Dixon’s inside at Turn 1 but the two made contact, which pitched Dixon into a spin. Later on Lap 63, Bourdais contacted Justin Wilson at Turn 3. Both incidents created a track blockage and caused a full-course caution, but neither Rahal nor Bourdais were issued a drive-through penalty for avoidable contact.

I sent a text to IndyCar Race Director Beaux Barfield asking for further clarification on those non-calls. In Rahal’s case, Race Control viewed Car 15 (Rahal) established alongside Car 9 (Dixon), so Car 9 was not entitled to go all the way to the apex.

On the Bourdais/Wilson contact, Bourdais, Car 7, needed to adjust to avoid Car 27 (James Hinchcliffe) and contacted Car 19 (Wilson) in the process.

  1. Nathan Gruenholz - Sep 4, 2013 at 11:04 PM

    TGBB Jr.’s explanation for Rahal would’ve been correct…had Rahal actually been beside Dixon in the first place. Rahal hit NOT Dixon’s sidepod (which would mean he did “establish” position) but instead clipped his rear bumper.

    Rahal didn’t establish jack. Dixon’s apex.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Today on NASCAR AMERICA

Featured video

Lewis Hamilton thanks his 'angels'
Top 10 NASCAR Driver Searches
  1. J. McMurray (4762)
  2. A. Seuss (1835)
  3. B. Myers (1388)
  4. J. Myers (1289)
  5. L. Fleming (1277)

More from NASCAR America

The new faces of NASCAR