Mar 15, 2014, 11:32 PM EDT
IMSA has admitted this evening that it made two incorrect calls during today’s Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring.
The No. 22 Alex Job Racing Porsche was called for a stop-and-hold plus 80-second penalty after it was deemed to have made contact with the No. 49 Spirit of Race Ferrari during Hour 7.
However, while the No. 49 Ferrari was indeed tagged by a Porsche – not once, but twice – it was not by the No. 22 AJR Porsche. Each of Porsche North America’s two entries, the No. 911 and No. 912, managed to make contact with the No. 49 in the race.
The AJR and Porsche NA machines carry similar grey and white paint jobs, but run in different classes: The AJR Porsche in GT Daytona, the Porsche NA cars in GT Le Mans. Additionally, they run different tires (AJR has Continentals; Porsche NA has Michelins).
Nonetheless, IMSA erred in calling the No. 22 for the penalty (which is non-appealable) and for not calling the No. 911 with one of its own. The No. 912 wound up winning the race in GTLM.
IMSA’s Scot Elkins said that since the incident occurred earlier in the race, nothing could be done in regards to assessing post-race time penalties to try and make up for the incorrect calls – a prospect he called “making another bad decision on top of an already bad decision.”
“I think everybody knows the way we view our analysis is via video,” Elkins said according to Sportscar365. “We had some very conclusive video … but we involved the wrong cars. It just so happened both of those cars were white Porsches. Both had in-car cameras.
“There’s nothing that we can do in terms of taking time away and doing anything to the results. We’re sorry, and we made a mistake. We have some things in place to fix it for the next time.”
Video from NASCAR America
- WATCH LIVE: 2014 Singapore Grand Prix on NBCSN from 7.30am ET 0
- Brendan Gaughan takes lead with 6 laps to go, wins Nationwide at Kentucky 0
- 16-year-old Cole Custer becomes youngest-ever winner of NASCAR national series race 1
- F1 Qualifying Analysis: Missed opportunities allow Hamilton to rule again 0
- Tyler Clary hopes to go from Olympic gold medal swimmer to NASCAR driver 1
- Hamilton snatches Singapore pole away from Rosberg 0
- Fernando Alonso closes out practice in Singapore fastest 0