Skip to content

NHRA: Four first-time U.S. Nationals winners crowned in Indianapolis

Sep 1, 2014, 6:35 PM EDT

DeJoriaWin AP

It was quite a day at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, as four new winners were crowned at the NHRA Mello Yellow Drag Racing Series’ marquee event Monday in Indianapolis.

Richie Crampton continued the banner weekend for Australians – his countryman Will Power captured the Verizon IndyCar Series championship Saturday night – with a final round win for Morgan Lucas Racing over Steve Torrence in Top Fuel.

In Funny Car, Alexis DeJoria¬†scored¬†her third win of the season by beating John Force. DeJoria’s 0.037 reaction time off the line trumped Force’s 0.071. The two ran nearly identical elapsed times with DeJoria posting a 4.038 to Force’s 4.039; Force ran faster (319.67 to 310.34) but the quicker reaction and ETs netted DeJoria the win.

Shane Gray took the Pro Stock win after Dave Connolly’s car incurred some sort of mechanical problem off the line. In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec took his 25th career win and first in the U.S. Nationals after edging Jerry Savoie.

Not only were the winners determined, but the 10 drivers in each of the four classes were determined for the NHRA’s Countdown, the final six races that decide the championship there.

  1. techmeister1 - Sep 2, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    Congrats to all the Indy winners. This was a tough and strange race this year. Compton and DeJoria ran good numbers to take full advantage of the traction available. Many bigger names stumbled or got out run by these two. Their crew chiefs gave them the tune up to get the job done while others missed the set up. Shane Gray also did a good job of driving even though he faced his teammate Dave Connolly who suffered some mechanical issue in the final. Krawiec had a fast Harley and wasn’t really ever challenged.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!